top of page

Rugby Rules

Object of the Game

The object of the game is score more points than your opponents in the 80 minute time frame allotted for each rugby match. The team with the greater number of points at full time is announced as the winner. Games may end as a draw.


The team with the ball must move the ball up the field in ‘phases of play’. The ball can never be passed forwards but players can run forwards with the ball or kick the ball forward to chase it down. The opposing team needs to stop the attacking team by tackling and trying to retain the ball.

Players & Equipment

Each rugby team will consist of 15 players. The team is split into two groups known as forwards and backs. There are 8 forwards (positions include Hooker, (2) Props, (2) Locks, (2) Flankers and Number Eight) and 7 backs (positions include Scrum Half, Fly Half, Inside Centre, Outside Centre, (2) Wingers and a Full Back).


Studded boots/cleats can be worn along with mouth guard, head gear, shoulder pads. Each team must wear the same coloured jerseys with matching shorts and socks.


Points can be scored by one of four ways:

  • A try is awarded when a player places the ball down in their opponent’s dead ball area behind the goal. 5 points are awarded.

  • A conversion is a placed kick that the team is awarded after a try to earn 2 extra points.
    A successful kick needs to pass between the upper posts and above the cross bar on the goal.

  • A penalty kick will earn a team 3 points and is awarded to a team when the opposing team causes an infringement.

  • A drop goal can be kicked out of the hand as long as the ball bounces first and can earn a team 3 points.

click here to learn more.


bottom of page